Death Note

I’m planning on having a Death Note themed party this year, and as it approaches, I’m finding myself scrambling to plan. (Perhaps I can do another post in a couple of weeks about the results.) So, I was thinking about it a lot today, and feeding my obsession with memes and blog posts ūüôā

I was also talking to a friend about it (who’s more obsessed than me), and we were playing a game of “what would you do”. Naturally, the first questions was “if you found a death note, having never¬†heard of it before, what would you do with it?”

For those of you not familiar with the anime/manga/movies, I’ll fill you in a bit.

Death Note is a psychological thriller focusing on Light Yagami, a genius who found¬†a notebook called a “death note”. Anyone in possession of one of these notebooks have the power to kill by writing¬†someone’s name in it. The note comes with 5 main rules, anything more than that, the user has to find out themselves. Even the Shinigami, the original owners of¬†any death note that’s made it’s way into the human world, don’t know all the rules.

Below is a picture listing the five main rules:

Light’s plan is to use to the death note to get rid of all the criminals and create the perfect world, a world he would become God of.

So,

If you found a death note, having never heard of it before, what would you do with it?

Most people would probably just automatically say that¬†killing people is wrong, and they wouldn’t even consider it. But, take a while to¬†really¬†think about it. Would you kill criminals like Light?¬†Give it to someone else?¬†Not even touch it?

Me? I thought about it for a while, and I came to the conclusion that we can’t be totally sure what we’d do until we were actually faced with the decision. After all, Light seemed like such a different person at times without the death note; his sense of justice was completely different. But that’s not what you wanted to hear.

I’m almost certain I’d pick it up. My curiosity would definitely get the better of me, and if I didn’t pick it up, I’d probably go crazy wondering what it might have been. I don’t think I’d use it, and if a Shinigami arrived and confirmed for me that it was real, I’d get rid of it.

Tell me what you’d do in the comments below. I look forward to hearing your perspective.

~C

Leave a Reply

