Writers Block

It’s been three weeks since I’ve written anything, both here, and in my WIP. As well as not really having the time, I’ve just had no idea what to write.

About a week ago, I read a post about writers block by ItsMeAshleyC, on the Valorpen blog, and it got me thinking. So, now I’m going to share a few things I do when I have writers block (and hope they inspire me to start writing again 😜).

Talking
I find talking about my story quite useful. It gets ideas flowing, and often it reminds me why I was excited about the story in the first place. The key is to find the right person to talk to, someone who understands your story, and can be helpful to bounce ideas around with.
And if nothing else, it releases some of the frustration of having no clue where to go next.

Short Stories
Sometimes when I’m blocked, I write short stories where I take my characters out of their book, and put them into different situations. As well as prompting some ideas, it helps in getting to know characters better.

Skipping Ahead
You’ve probably heard this one before. If you’re stuck at one point, instead of waiting there got inspiration to strike, go wrote a different scene. You can always come back to it later. For me, it only works if I’ve done extensive planning, but it does make things a lot easier.

Re-Writing Scenes
No, I do not mean editing. Pick a scene that you’d like to write in the point of view of a different character, and do it. It mostly likely won’t be in the finished book, but you’ll get insight into another character’s thoughts, and it may even help later on when you’d editing, and need to convey those thoughts more.

Have you tried these? Did they work for you? What other ideas would you recommend?

~C

Leave a Reply

