5 Reasons I’m Excited for the Suicide Squad Movie

If you’ve been following my blog, you may have noticed that I’m quite a DC girl.

However, I don’t know about you, but I’m getting sick of Batman and Superman movies. Don’t get me wrong, I love Batsy, but I’ve kind of had enough of him and Supes on the big screen.

So when I first heard of the upcoming Suicide Squad movie, I was intrigued, and everything I’ve read since then has made me more and more excited.

In no particular order:

5 Reasons I’m Excited for Suicide Squad

1. Harley Quinn, Harley Quinn, Harley Quinn.

How can this not make you excited? Not only will Suicide Squad be Harley’s first movie appearance, but she’ll make her debut without just being “the Joker’s obsessed girlfriend” to casual fans.

Sure, the Joker is in the movie, but it doesn’t sound like he’ll play a major part, which is the perfect opportunity to let her shine as her own character.

2. Character dynamics

This is not a group of heroes banding together to beat a threat, it’s a task force of criminals threatened by bomb implants. BOOM.

It’s not something they signed up for, and they’re not necessarily around people they get along with. I forecast a ton of fights and arguments.

3. Spotlight on the Villains

The nerve of all those heroes, stealing the spotlight! Well, not this time.

Villains are the characters you love to hate, and putting them together will create a movie people will love to love. Plus, it’s all about the anti-heroes nowadays.

4. The body count

This may seem like a rather sadistic thing to be excited about, but it’s the Suicide Squad. Meaning it’s almost certain that not everyone in Task Force X will make it to the end of the movie. I’m looking forward to finding out who makes it — and who doesn’t.

They’re also not as forgiving in combat, so it will be interesting to see who comes out a little less alive.

5. Casting and costumes

Lyke will talk more about this in her first post, but I wanted to briefly touch on it. There are a lot of big names involved in this movie, which could be a good or bad thing, but nevertheless, it’s attracted some attention — as have the preview photos of the cast all dressed up in their costumes.

So there you go. As you might see, I’m trying not to judge or get too pessimistic about it without even seeing a trailer. Also, I was watching Assault on Arkham while/before writing this, which only added to my excitement.

What are your thoughts? Where would you rate your excitement level on this movie?

~C

3 thoughts on “5 Reasons I’m Excited for the Suicide Squad Movie

  1. I love Harley Quinn too! And you are right. Villains need the spotlight too. They have interesting backstories too. And there’s always a reason why someone becomes a villain.

Leave a Reply

